Retuning The FZ6 to its R6 Roots

jcbrown630

Ok new member and owner. I just picked up my new 09 FZ6R friday. I'm an experienced rider and mechanic. In my understanding the FZ6 is built around a detuned 04-05 R6 motor. If this is accurate information what steps did yamaha take to detune and take the edge off the power and power delivery of the powerplant for this bike? What can be done to regain the power?

What are the biggest bang per buck mods to the bike?
Popular free mods?

Not looking to get an R6 out of this bike. Just enjoy tinkering. I can't own a bike and not learn and tinker with it.:iconbeer:

M76

From what I understand most of the mods to the original R6 motor occurred in the top end of the engine, namely changes in the valve sizes. This allowed the engine to produce more low-mid range torque at the expense of horsepower high up.

Do a search around the forums. Exhaust mods are quite popular as some R6 headers will bolt onto the FZ6R...

Spunky99

From what I understand most of the mods to the original R6 motor occurred in the top end of the engine, namely changes in the valve sizes. This allowed the engine to produce more low-mid range torque at the expense of horsepower high up.

Do a search around the forums. Exhaust mods are quite popular as some R6 headers will bolt onto the FZ6R...
Sorry...not true..I did an exhaustive examination of the differences between a R6 and an FZ6 and they involve stroke, compression, valve size, big cam difference, gearing ratios, throttle body sizes. Those are the physical changes. The ECR has changed as well.

Once I have changed out my exhaust system, I think I will have completed the most comprehensive upgrades possible to date for this bike. There is a possibility of a throttle body jet bore but I haven't fully evaluated that change and the expected results yet. I'm also contemplating a fairing mod with handlebar change to clip-ons and rear sets but that is not going to affect the engine performance.