Need help with new gear

Taz

Hello everyone,

I am total newb to the cycle world and need some help in choosing some protective gear. I will be purchasing my first bike 09' FZ6R soon. I will be riding only in summer in North East about half hour to work and back. I have already bought a helmet. These are the items am look at so far at this site.

Joe Rocket Yamaha Delta R Jacket - Street Bike - Motorcycle Superstore

Joe Rocket Velocity Gloves - Street Bike - Motorcycle Superstore

Joe Rocket C.E. Back Protector - Street Bike - Motorcycle Superstore

Vega Sport II Boots - Street Bike - Motorcycle Superstore

Thank you for the help.

Taz

Boots...too many choices but I saw you went for the cheapest 3/4 length sport boot they had.
Feet get abused in a crash badly so maybe upping the ante a bit might be prudent.
AXO Primato II $132.99
AXO Primato II Boots - Street Bike - Motorcycle Superstore
Sidi Fusion $200.00 or
then jump up to Alpenstars S-MX-5 at $219.00

The jacket seems a little heavy for summer usage. Maybe a mesh would better suit you. They all come with back protection BTW so the back protector is not needed. If you want to add a racing back protector then maybe one of these? It has a kidney belt built in as well. Like a girdle hold in the beer belly...LOL
Velocity Gear - Motorcycle Body Armor & Motorcycle Gloves - Protective Gear

The Velocity gloves aren't gauntlet....not what I'd use....
I use these. Leather for nights and mesh during the day. I have 5 pairs....love them.
leather
MOTORCYCLE GLOVES CARBON KEVLAR LEATHER BLACK
mesh
CARBON KEVLAR Motorcycle Mesh & Leather Race Gloves

I too, would recommend a mesh jacket if you will only be riding your bike in the summer. Just make sure you get one that has a removeable liner that you can use if you decide to ride when it gets a bit cooler.

If you want to stay with the Joe Rocket line, I have the
Joe Rocket Phoenix 5.0 mesh jacket and am very happy with it.

Congrats on the new bike and welcome! :)