New Rider...how do you approach a red light

killabee

Hello everyone,

My name is Jeff and I just got my brand new 2009 white FZ6R about 2 weeks ago. I currently have about 109 miles on it. This is my first bike and I've been learning a lot every time I ride. I've been driving a manual transmission car for the past 5 years, and whenever I approach a red light/stop sign I always put the car in neutral and just coast to a gradual stop while applying my brakes when needed. I've never been the type to downshift when slowing down.

Now that I ride, obviously it's a bit harder to just throw the gear in neutral. My question to you veteran riders out there. Do you downshift when coming to a stop or do you pull the clutch in, apply brakes, and continue to downshift to either 1st or neutral?

Any advice or thoughts on which is the best way to reduce wear and tear on the bike would be greatly appreciated!

-Jeff

bakkenlab

these are sport bikes, they are made for engine braking. USE IT! or else you'll be going through brake pads pretty frequently...When i'm coming to a stop i down shift so the bike does all of the work. When im in second or third sometimes ill just pull the clutch in too and apply the brake, all depends on speed and how much stopping distance you have

Rookasaki

Congrats on the 6R :thumbup:
For me it's about 50/50. Sometimes I down shift through the gears and other times I just pull in the clutch and coast to the limit line.

Sage

I shift down though the gears slowing down until second, while applying the brakes the closer i get to the destination, then shift down to 1st when i do come to a stop.

madmike

Lord Humongous
Elite Member

CrazyCawi

I shift down though the gears slowing down until second, while applying the brakes the closer i get to the destination, then shift down to 1st when i do come to a stop.
I do the exact same! :cool:

BackBone