I Hate Squids - Rant

slaythoven

I'm pretty sure every "proper" (read: smart) rider gets a rant so here's mine.

Riding down the highway in my cager (my 6R still isn't broken in, I'm only at 200 mi) I see not 1, not 2, not even 3 but about 9 or 10 squids doing squiddy things: no gear (a few had helmets though), splitting lanes, going 95 mph, and one even had a passenger! Before I started riding, it would annoy me simply because I knew not all riders were like that. Ever since I've gotten into the club so to speak, it pisses me off to no end! Yes, it the weather is starting to warm up but even that isn't a good excuse to show your tentacles. I'll just never understand that type of behavior.

On another level, not to make it a race issue, but I'm Black and all of those squids were too. Not only am I as a rider going to be lumped in with those jackasses, but some will also put me in that box because of my skin color as well. :banghead:

Going one step further, I'm relatively young (27), again as were the squids. This pushes me even further into this stereotype that because I'm a rider, with these two attributes added on. This simply needs to change and I have no idea what I can do about it other than gearing up every time I ride & being respectable on the road to show people that at least 1 out of 10 young black riders are not in it to "look cool".

I apologize for the rant but I just had to get that off of my chest.

JSP

Super Moderator
No need to apologize! Its bullshit... They give all riders a bad name. :( Season is just getting here so the squids will be in full effect! :spank:

dart1963

Super Moderator
Elite Member

CrazyCawi

Thats about all you can do is ATGATT and ride respectful.

Tmak73