Front Wheel Alignment Issues

ChUcK

I installed some new handlebars. Now, when riding down the road, my bars and the triple tree are cocked to the right in order to drive in a straight line. I hadn't noticed before, it turns out the stock ones were bent "straight" by the previous owner to visually correct the misalignment.

I spent an afternoon loosening, twisting, and tightening the fork clamping points along with the front axle, but was unable to fix the problem. Any ideas for me to try?

The front suspension works fine, leading me to believe the forks aren't bent, but I am no expert. My gas mileage seems comparable to other values I have seen posted, 40-50 mpg wrist dependent. The bike doesn't seem to want to track either way when riding no-hands. My rear wheel is aligned *perfectly using the swingarm pivot/axle bolt measuring method. I have loosened the fork clamp bolts previously in order to undo a sheisty lowering mod. The bike has been down on the right side, including a scrape to the front wheel fender. No wobbles, shimmies, or shakes at any speeds or while cornering.

That's all the extra stuff I can think of right now, let me know if there is more info I can supply. Thanks for giving this problem some thought! :thumbup:

JSP

Super Moderator
If you can support the bike and take the weight off of the forks, try loosening it all up again and also loosen up the front wheel at the same time. If you do all of that and you still cannot get it aligned then I dont know...

dart1963

Super Moderator
Elite Member

JSP

Super Moderator
:needpics:

pic might help explain it better... also, make sure previous owner didn't put one clamp facing front and one facing back (our handlebar "adjustment" mounts)
Yeah that too!