Belt driven FZ6R

Just a thought. Is there anyway to take a chain driven sport bike and convert it to a belt driven sportbike? Just wondering if anyone ever got this done or seen it done. Thanks!

Just doing research on both. Belts are safer than chains just in case they break while riding.

fz6recon

ah...see I myself am a rookie so just soaking in the wealth of knowledge around here...good luck with the research...I like how the chains can come in different colors...just don;t know if belts come with that option as well...

L

Layne5150

I have a Fz6 and my wife has a Buell Blast.

I clean them both.

We ride them to work. Me 25 miles. Her 10.

My chain driven bike has a dirty rim, fender, swing arm, brakes, etc. Everything is a mess back there after 500 miles.

Her belt driven buell is still clean after 500 miles.

FZ6 yeah I'm a noob to bikes and just doing a lot of research on them. I completed the BRC but I'm still nervous about getting on my FZ6R for the first time on 1 June.

I have a Fz6 and my wife has a Buell Blast.

I clean them both.

We ride them to work. Me 25 miles. Her 10.

My chain driven bike has a dirty rim, fender, swing arm, brakes, etc. Everything is a mess back there after 500 miles.

Her belt driven buell is still clean after 500 miles.
WOW great info man. I might just pick up a belt driven bike soon, just to have an extra ride.

fz6rwolf

I've never had belt. This is my 1st chain since my childhood xr175, every other had been shaft drive which was great in maintenance (there was none) but shaft always had a lag from throttle to go which chain doesn't. I've read on another forum someone trying to fit another bike from chain to belt and was having a real hard time of it getting things to line up. Would be interesting though if could be done.

Chain just seems like a lot of maintenance to clean, lube and adjust tension every 500 miles. And without a rear stand I heard and seen it is a pain in the butt to do.

D

dean owens