What is the gear/speed does everyone shift at??

JZIPPOZ

Hello,
I am new to riding and i have been currently breaking in my FZ6R. I am just curious as to what speed everyone shifts each gear at. Just give me an example of how fast you go in each gear. The advice would be greatly appreciated.

MikeN02

Usually I'm in 2nd or 3rd while street riding. (45mph) and 4 or 5th freeway riding, 65 - 70.

I usually shift in first around 10 RPM. I can't stand the screeching sound and the vibration of the mirrors.

porky45

F

FZ6Rgurl

If I'm just taking it easy taking off from a stop, I usually shift between 4-6 RPM in each gear. By the time I'm up to highway speed(55 in Oregon), I'm already in 5th gear or so. When I was breaking my bike in, I think I shifted between 3-5 RPM. Because I heard you weren't supposed to take it over 6 RPM until you reach like 600 miles or so.

F

FZ6Rgurl

But riding in town, I usually shift between 3-5 RPM. I love the sound of the engine winding up, that high pitched scream our bike gives when the RPMs reach the higher ones. But when you reach the higher RPM's, that means I'm going over the speed limit. :thumbup:

vitrox

i always cruise in high rpms, in case you need to make a quick manuever in traffic its good to have the HP there.

JonKerr

Elite Member

bjpinub

Since this thread is focusing on shifting, I was wondering if it is normal for the shifting to be rough during the break-in period? I am currently at 19 of 600 mile break-in period. When I shift, it seems a little choppy/jumpy. When I shift and let out the clutch, there doesn't seem to be an area of it slowly shifting into gear, that is, as I release the clutch, the bike seems to sort of jump into gear. Is this normal, or is it just the novice rider?

zig308