New To FZ6r And To This Form

A1A

I would like to say hello and introduce myself to everyone. I'm not sure if this is the correct area for this or not. I'll be picking up my new 2009 Blue FZ6r tomorrow 9-21-2010. I have went through several bikes since I started riding along time ago. My bikes in order of ownership, 1958 HD Sportster H, 2000 Suzuki VS 1400 Intruder, 2004 Suzuki SV-650N, 2005 Suzuki VStrom 650, 2007 Suzuki Bandit GSF 1250S. Bikes I own now are the 2010 Yamaha FJR 1300 and the Yamaha FZ6r. I think I'll be a Yamaha rider for a long time in the future.
I'm from Jax Beach, Florida and retired from the U.S. Navy after 26 years active service.
I'd like to ask everyone to please tell me the pros and cons with ownership of the Yamaha FZ6r?

Again I would like to say HELLO to everyone and look forward to responding to threads of the site.

dart1963

Super Moderator
Elite Member

Detrich

Welcome welcome :)

Here's my .02

Pros
Comfortable, upright riding position
Easier handling & tame power
Simple to read console & controls

Cons
Heavy weight
Mirrors could be better
Maybe just a little underpowered

creggur

Welcome aboard from the North side of Jax! Spent six years in the Navy back in the 90's...

Last edited:

fz6rwolf

Retired Navy here also (23 years, MAC, USN). Think you'll enjoy the bike.

Superzoom

Welcome,

For pros, I'd say:

- upright position, comfortable
- decent suspension out-of-the-box
- great, tractable motor for all-around riding
- good mileage
- moderate weight

Cons:

- lack of aftermarket accessories
- the seat is sloped and is only comfortable for an hour or less
- windscreen is bad for turbulence (and so is Yamaha Double Bubble)
- engine slightly buzzy around 6000 rpm

Overall, I'd say the FZ6R is an amazingly well-balanced all-arounder, with no glaring weaknesses and many strengths. It's basically a modern standard with a sport bike fairing.

J.J.

Welcome, retired Army here :D
Pros: