Need help please bike wont start

Sandro

hi everybody, i live in ontario canada. today was the first day it has been warm enough to hop on the bike and i was so happy. i washed it up and jumped on it and tried starting it..but nope....the bike tries to start but the engine just wont turn over. the battery is fully charged. ONCE i heard the engine start to turn over when i gave it a little gas but then it stopped. this is driving me crazy and im by NO means a mechanic.. can anybody PLEASE HELP ME?!

Scott_Thomas

Insert title Here
Elite Member

anson650

I know how frustrating it is, especially on the first ride of the season. It still sounds like the battery. How do you know it is fully charged? Do you have or know someone who has a multimeter? (Harbor freight has some very cheap and they actually work well enough to do some basic checking.) I'm hoping by now you've gotten in touch with some one local to help you.
Good luck and keep us posted.
It's just the beginning of the season,
Anson
Ditto what Scott said about the gas, and air filter.

SixRFixR

A marginal battery can show a full charge on a voltmeter, but it could be just a "surface charge." Check the voltage with a load on it. That's the proof of the pudding. There seems to be a point in the death of a battery with these bikes where the battery is enough for it to crank, but not actually start. It still could be the battery. Make sure you didn't soak the air filter during its bath or check the airbox for other blockage.

latony007

Most of the time it is the battery, id either put it on a tender and if it takes more than a few hours to go green you need a new one. You can jump it from a car but if the battery is bad it will not start even after riding it for a while. As Scott mentioned if you had the fuel in there a long time that could be a factor or air filter as well but its usually battery especially if sitting all winter in the great white north without a tender.

yillbs