Install full fairing on XJ6s

Chuppymarley

Hi all,
newbie here..
I saw the FZ6R fairing kit on ebay. Want to know does it can directly fit on to XJ6s (half faired) without modification?
Cause in my country the dealer only offer the half faired version XJ6.. and I really like the full faired look..

Pls advice.
Thanks..

motoguy82

I'm pretty sure the full fairing versions have a different nose cowling section that doesn't match up with the side fairings... found this out the hard way when I ordered a windscreen for a full faired version and it didn't match my XJ6S. So probably to do this, you'd need the nose cowling too, and it would probably be a big PITA trying to figure out most likely different and additional mounting points.

What's wrong with the semi-faired version anyway? I kinda like seeing the engine on this bike.

yfz6r

The fairings are a lot different. Unless yamaha makes a loer fairing kit like they did for the fz1 and fz6 I don't think it would be worth the effort and cost

pilninggas

If you buy one of those complete FZ6R fairings (the chinese/taiwanese/korean jobbies - approx US$600 for painted/decaled), i am 90% sure the whole lot mates upto existing mounting points. As this is something i have considered, i have had a look at the schematics on bikebandit.com to be sure, already.

As said previously you will need to remove the XJ6S top fairing and put the FZ6R one on instead, so the side panels and lowers will go on.

yfz6r

You'd have to add all the mounting brackets as well as change out several of the existing plastics. It'd probably be cheaper to import an FZ6R from the states.
Exactly. The mounting points are WAY different. Would take some skillful metal fabrication to pull off. Riding isn't about looks anyway. Just enjoy what you have

rtho782

You'd have to add all the mounting brackets as well as change out several of the existing plastics. It'd probably be cheaper to import an FZ6R from the states.