First post from MS

AngryAnt

Hi guys, I been lurking here for the last couple of weeks, thought I'd say hello.

I go to pick up my first "real" bike on Saturday from Louisiana, a new 2009 FZ6R in Yamaha Blue. I've got the roaring toyz lowering kit and kickstand in hand that they'll install before I leave the dealership with it, and I'll be installing frame sliders and bar sliders as soon as I get home before it even leaves the garage. I need to pick up a tank protector too, as I'm super paranoid about doing damage to it, and I know its inevitable as a newb I'll be dropping it.

I know most people buy used, but I had my heart set on a Ninja 650 or FZ6R in blue and found neither used within reasonable driving distance, and got this one out the door for about what most people are asking for low-miles 600cc bikes anyway.

My current bike is a 275cc chinese knock-off of the Honda silverwing, and I promised myself that if I got the endorsement, and drove it back and forth to work everyday for a year with no accidents or near misses I'd upgrade to something I really wanted, and here I am! I'm a little nervous going from a automatic to a 6-speed, but hopefully I'll get the hang of it with enough parking lot time.

In terms of gear I'm using a HJC helmet: IS-Max Bluetooth HJC IS-Max Bluetooth Helmet - Silver | Helmet City
and a tour master textile jacket. I know the gear probably isn't the best, but I'll be looking for recommendations from you guys what I should be buying, as I don't have any riding buddies to ask about gear :)

Anyway, lengthy intro, but look forward to posting first pics of the bike this weekend, and getting it on the road next week!

Rabbitman109

Lumen Junkie
Elite Member

CrazyCawi

Very good intro :) Sounds like you have a good head on your shoulders and welcome to the community!

Proudly atgatt!

Uno979

Thuper Moderator
Premium Member

AngryAnt

Uno - I'm from the Hattiesburg area.