Chain issues

pilninggas

Was out last weekend and when we stopped i noticed the chain had a kink in it - it looked like a tight-spot. Any how had a closer look and could see that the o-ring was coming out! now i've been riding for 16 years and never seen anything like that. Also changed a lot of o-ring chains (i also have a tdm850 and an fzr1000), and can't see how it can happen (aside from manufacturing flaws).

Just went to the local yamaha dealer and they have photographed it and will be logging a warranty claim when their warranty administrator returns from the USA (stuck out there due to the ash cloud!).

The mechanic said usually Yamaha honour warranty claims, but i did agree it will be hard to see in a photo.

will wait and see:rolleyes:

JSP

Super Moderator
If you have kept up on cleaning and lubing the chain, then yeah, could just be a bad o-ring or something... Seems rare, but don't see it as impossible.

pilninggas

just a follow-up. I put in a warranty claim when i first posted. The local yamaha dealer, said yamaha were not keen to give it the green light. Meanwhile the chain has lost loads of o-rings and has become dangerous. Today i decided enough-is-enough and went and bought a new chain.

I will however be pursuing this with yamaha UK, as the failure is catastrophic, dangerous and not what should be expected at 3500 miles.

total pain as a new chain was £68 :mad:

Barkwindjammer

Thats a pretty shocking stance from your dealership Mervin-but sadly all too common these days, once they,ve got your 'hard earned' they dont want to know, you should post this around other forums you use and get the word around, this could be as catastrophic as the Toyota safety issues, a chain break can cause the rear wheel to lock up and loss of control as you well know, I've seen pics of swing arms almost cut through-lets spread the word !:eek:

pilninggas