Bike randomly stalled..wont turn over

woody

I own a 1997 Honda CBR600 and have owned it for a little over a year now. Im not new to riding, but Im not incredibly knowledgeable on the mechanics of my bike unfortunately. Situation is, my bike has been running great since Ive owned it, and the previous owner was an older man who babied it and did all of the maintenance requirements in a timely manner. Today, I had been riding it for a solid ten minutes or so, and upon pulling up to a red light, it had an odd sputter to its idle, as if it was struggling to stay alive. I gave it a little throttle and held it, ignoring it until might light turned green. As soon as I attempted to take off, it died immediately. Then refused to restart, hardly even giving me a crank when I attempted to restart it. I thought it may be the battery, as I start it a couple of times a day, as I am a college student and use it frequently to get around class to class, but I cant imagine that shutting the bike off while its running, and its hasnt given me trouble yet starting until now.
Help?? Suggestions?
Thanks

MikeN02