apartment + fz6

rjohnson5481

Moving to an apartment from a house with a garage pretty soon.
I've done some research on covers and such, i'm mainly looking for advice on keeping her upright, when parked. My biggest fear is walking out and seeing someone hit it. We have one covered space at the complex, but nothing more.

heads up, i'm new to riding in general.

motoguy82

I used to park mine sideways at the front of my spot (not sure if you have assigned??) and then pull the wife's car in behind it...overhead covered both pretty well, although I used a bike cover too.

Nastybutler

Cynical Member
Elite Member

Rookasaki

I live in a 4 plex apartment with no covered parking... I bought the FZ6R cover. Good for the summer months. However when winter came along I would throw a tarp over her. You should be good with any cover since you have a over head parking spot.

Since my buddy moved in next door and his place came with a carport... We got one of these...

As far as security get a good disc brake lock.

redwing-2001

rent the smallest you can find self-storage space especially for extended times you will not be riding (winter). Maybe winter would not be an issue in Mississippi but if you think there will be a problem in you area, this idea may give you some piece of mind.

iSpoolin

I just keep my bikes under covers parked next to my cars. Put a padlock through some metal eyes on the bottom and front of the cover (through the front wheel)

ChUcK

I concur with the purchase of a good cover. They make ones that are designed to be thrown over a still-warm motorcycle.