Thinking of lowering Bike ( advice )

dodi

I've had my Fz6r for about three weeks now, and have approx 1200 kms on the odometer and am now considering opting out for the lowering link. I had the dealer adjust the preload to the lowest setting and removed / reversed the rubber plugs under the seat ( advice from a member of the forum ) and am wearing thick soled boots with a 2 inch heel ( Daytons ). I am comfortably on the balls of my feet but have some concerns. I am 5'4" tall with a very short inseam. I have been riding for 15 years and have always lowered taller bikes with no ill effects. The preload is not set up for my weight and many people have told me about the ill effects of having the preload dialed all the way down in terms of handling ( wallowing in the corners ) the seat base is loose and has a lot of play in it, and I would rather wear my Sidi or Puma motorcycle boots that allow me greater control over the brake and shift levers. At first I thought the Roaring Toyz link would lower the bike too much ( 1.75 inches ), but after 1200kms of riding and with all my adjustments the bike feels a little tall for me. My riding enjoyment and confidence would increase with the lowering. Adjusting the preload back up to at least factory settings ( i weigh approx 170 pds ) and adjusting the seat would increase the seat height back to stock. The lowering link would probably net me at least one inch lower from where I am now. I would Lower the front to match as well. I would like some advice on whether I should lower the bike or just keep riding for a while. Any input regarding lowering the bike would be appreciated, as well as some input from those members who have lowered their bikes with regards to handling, stiffness of the lowered suspension etc..... Any input or advice woulds be appreciated. Thank you so much.