Tailgaters

PhatPhizzixxer

Do you see this very often? This past weekend, I'm riding in a residential area, speed limit is 35, one lane going both directions...doing the speed limit. I look in my mirror & see a white car trying to pass me - in the same #@$% lane as I'm in & it's a no passing zone - and he's mere inches from my left rear! It shook me up, not just because I'm new to riding, but also because he seemed so angry about having to drive the speed limit. I turned around briefly to look at him & he's back there throwing his hands up in the air, beating the steering wheel & he's literally trying to pass me. I just thought I'm not dealing w/ this maniac...I don't want to speed, we're going around alot of curves, there's a light coming up...so I pulled over & stopped, let him pass. The funny thing is, as soon as I got going again, when I got to the light to turn right, he's now stuck at the red light (going straight). Karma, dude...what a freak!

How do you deal w/ that?

davidrosso

You handled that the correct way. You never want to let someone "push" you to do something you don't want to.

Of course the other way to handle that situation is to grab a handful of change from your jacket pocket and throw it at the guys windshield.
But if you do that you better be ready to run, this tactic is best applied on the highway where there is ample room to get away :D

dart1963

Super Moderator
Elite Member

fstrthan_uthink

Yea you did the right thing. Best thing to do with idiot cagers is to get away from them. In a residential area pulling over and letting them go by was the best option.

99vengeur

Administrator
Staff member
+1 to what everyone else said. If you can get over to let them by, that's the best thing to do. NEVER speed up; that only encourages them to tailgate at a higher rate of speed.

cbzdel

the problem with you going the speed limit, your really NOT.. The speeo is almost 10% off, so if it says 35, you were really doing 31.5..