Suspension Settings...

adam_fozz

Hi All, I have read about 5 threads about this so far and I still have some questions.

I have the XJ6n from the UK but I think the principle will still be the same depite the slight weight difference of the bike.

Im 140lbs without gear on and am currently set at factory (3) on the rear preload.

I was thinking of dropping it to two based on my weight but then I read a contradicting thread saying that you should add 1 or 2 notches if you like to ride fast / hard.

I would use the change it and ride it method to see which I prefer but my background is in Crossers and I dont think I would have the knowledge of cornering etc to tell much of a difference.

Of course there is always the measuring route...1 third of the total travel in sag when you sit on the bike...but im not convinced how accurate you can be with a shock with only seven settings rather than an adjuster ring and lock ring.

Please give me your two cents worth!

Adam_Fozz

dart1963

Super Moderator
Elite Member

Roaddawg

I'm 230 without gear and on 6 and happy with that setting. Like Dart said, just try it on different settings. This bikes suspension isn't adjustable enough to get technical with the suspension settings.

CrazyCawi

how do you adjust it? Ill search when I get home but im on taptalk right now

sammy56

Hi All, I have read about 5 threads about this so far and I still have some questions.

I have the XJ6n from the UK but I think the principle will still be the same depite the slight weight difference of the bike.

Im 140lbs without gear on and am currently set at factory (3) on the rear preload.

I was thinking of dropping it to two based on my weight but then I read a contradicting thread saying that you should add 1 or 2 notches if you like to ride fast / hard.

I would use the change it and ride it method to see which I prefer but my background is in Crossers and I dont think I would have the knowledge of cornering etc to tell much of a difference.