New rider thinking of getting the FZ6R

r0bot

Hello,
I am just getting into motorcycle ridding coming from a past of nothing related lol just always had a very strong draw to bikes. I am signed up for the MSF course here in Southern California for next weekend and am planning on taking the written test and getting my license shortly after. I have been looking at bikes (new and used) and feel I have made my decision to get the FZ6R. I have heard from some other riders that this is border line to having to much power for a beginner but after reading through this entire forum (all 3 pages) and seeing a lot of new riders with nothing but positive things to say I am convinced it will work out great for me.
Just wanted to say hello and introduce myself. I dont have any friends in the area into riding and was curious if there was any other FX6R riders in the San Diego area that would be down to ride and maybe show me a few things =). Hope to post some more soon with pics of the new bike once i pick one up.

Daryl J

K

kellybt1052

Good luck with course and welcome. I was in a similar place last september and went with an FZ6 over a number of other bikes. It is actually quite a nice bike to learn and develop skills. It is remarkeably versatile and is really 2-3 different bikes in one. It is very easy to grow with and will pretty good at lower RPM's ans speeds as well. Very predicatable and easy to ride! It has tons of and the power is remarkeable as you gain confidence and start to play in the upper end of the Revs and get more agressive. They only downside is the suspension, it is quite easy to develop your skills to a point where you can reach the end of the suspension capabilites, which are FAR lower than the chassis and engine. There are lots of threads on how to modify the suspension though here. I have new springs coming this week for mine to help. Sorry to rant, enjoy the bike and start with GOOD GEAR, it is the best "mod" you can invest in!!
Brian

MNDZA