Complete noobie

Dustincaley

Let me start off by saying this is my first bike and im a complete noob. :confused:
I'm the only one in my family that has/had a bike, you guys are it as far as any questions I have.

I'm getting off a long shift, 10 at night, and go to my parked bike outside.
The keys are still in it, I forgot them in a rush to start my shift (i work on a military installation, so its pretty safe.)
I try to start her up, and she's got no juice.
The battery was obviously dead... bleh
I ran inside and got a friend to help me push start it up ( it was dark, late, and i was tired.)
It started up fine, with a little push.
I let it run for a few minutes and i jumped on and was headed home (~25 miles)
I got home, shut it off, attempted to start it again to make sure it she'd start back up in the morning, but hadn't. I pressed the ignition and the charge was getting weaker (the dash lights where dimming with each press)

I've got a couple of questions, and im sure its :deadhorse:

Or i'll get flamed :cool:

A. Does my bike not have an alternator to recharge my battery once shes started back up? (I ran it for a good 30 minutes at highway speed, figured that would have done the trick)

B. I've seen you can't use a regular car battery charger to recharge it, can I not jump-start my bike with a car either?

C. Is push starting it harmful to the bike? (yes, i understand i pushed it w/o knowing, but it was literally my only option at that point :facepalm: )

D. What shall I do from here?
- New battery?
- Trickle charger? Not even sure what it is. Assuming its a bike version of a battery charger?)
- Ditch the bike because i'm a horrible owner lol

Again, excuse me for my noobness..
but searching google for questionable answers at best wasn't going to cut it. The group on here seem very knowledgeable.

Help meh palease

Detrich