Black Gunk/Clean Chain

behindXgrnXeyes

So my thread got closed to high testosterone levels...sorry about that :p

I will not be cleaning my chain with a rag, infact, i cant even do that because i do not have a rear stand...haha ($$)

I can maybe look into getting one for XMAS, it should hold by then. So what kind of sched do you guys suggest for cleaning...once a month...or something...

Now call me crazy, but im new to Manual engines...but uhm....if i put it in 1st gear....and let go of the clutch...er, wont it stall? Or due to there being no pressure on the back wheel, it will actually spin..

Sorry for the silly question but it was intention that no clutch without throttle = shut off...lol

Rabbitman109

Lumen Junkie
Elite Member

yfz6r

If you can get the rear tire off the ground, it will spin in first without giving it any gas. Get in a diesel truck and let out the clutch slowly- you don't have to give it gas and the truck will go.
As a nurse, I'm going to say DO NOT do anything with your chain while the bike is on. The tire spins fast and will chop your finger off if it gets between the chain and sprocket. A few people lose fingers every year because of this.
I do chain lubing that way tho. You have to take risks to get shit done.

Easy way to clean your chain is to just spray wd40 all over it and let it sit for a few mins. Then just spray it off with a hose. WD40 is awesome. After that, just pour some lube on it. With no stand, just put the bike on the kickstand, clean/lube a portion, then wheel it forward a few inches. Repeat.

If you lift the bike and let the clutch out to turn the tire, you won't be wanting to use a rag. Think about it.

I just keep my chain soaked in wd-40. Many people don't recommend this but it stays clean and gives me no problems. You don't actually lube a sealed o-ring chain.

Bloke

Either...

Use a rag and thoroughly clean and lube your chain

Or....

Use a damn long straw and just spray some stuff on it.