Potholes

MNDZA

I just started riding this season and I was wondering about potholes. I usually avoid them, but a couple times I've hit some pretty bad ones. It shook the whole bike, but I held on tight and everything was fine. My question is why are they so dangerous as people say? Shouldn't you be fine if you just hold on and keep it straight? Another rider on a different forum said he hit a pothole and laid the bike down...why?

cbzdel

depends on the size of the pot hole and how you are riding, there is one in my area that is about 8" deep and 18" foot in diameter, if I hit that I am pretty sure it would F me up haha....

Then think about hitting on while you are taking a hard corner..

Not sure on your area but they are bar in mine and you DO NOT want to hit them..

MNDZA

Wow.....yeah I never thought of the big ones...only the small, annoying ones. Remember the Simpsons monorail episode. They show the street that needs repairs and a car just disappears into the pothole.:rof:

99vengeur

Administrator
Staff member
If you go straight over a small one, it should be okay. However, if you are slightly off-center to the pothole, it may cause the front tire to dive one direction or the other. If traveling fast enough, this could cause the bike to be laid down.

Also, if you hit one that's deep enough, you could actually bend and damage the rim causing a flat tire.

B

blitzcraig

Wow.....yeah I never thought of the big ones...only the small, annoying ones. Remember the Simpsons monorail episode. They show the street that needs repairs and a car just disappears into the pothole.:rof:
marge: i have someone here who can help you!
homer: is it batman?
marge: no, he's a scientist.
homer: batman's a scientist.
marge: it's NOT BATMAN!

PVD_FZ6R

The potholes in Providence are so bad I sometimes feel like I'm competing in the Moto X Games. Even some manholes are pretty deep and can be dangerous. I simply try to avoid them as much as I can.