MotGP Trail Braking

FastFreddy

I was wondering about trail braking, excellent article.

Some corners you definitely need to do this.

You have to practice how the brakes affect in all phases of the corner, this article explains a lot.

I'm generally early braking and putting the throttle on to balance as I lean.

Practice very gently brushing the brakes (while going straight to feel what a light touch is, then to use during corners), a light touch over a distance is safe with the rear brake, a light touch on the front brake can settle things to when needed.

Rossi is well known to trail brake most hard corners. Lorenzo is a well known early braker. The both know how to get off the brakes and keep the optimum speed up into the corner either way.

Last edited:

Bert-Aus

If you can get your head around how this works,
practicing on the track this method will vastly improve your lap times
...feels magic when you get it good (not to say that I am an expert at all)

to reduce the back end stepping out you also need to rev match your down shift whilst breaking too!
(this is my next area of practice as I step out too often on the dip in)

JonKerr

Elite Member

Detrich

When u guys trail brake are you solely using front brake or rear though?

In MotoGP it looks as though they use the reAr, because you see the rear side of the bike swaying right before they drop into a corner.

For canyon riding, I've heard different things tho. Some friends I know use the rear to trail brake. Some completely ignore the rear and only use the front.

What's the correct way to do it and why?

Bert-Aus

My method on track goes something like (picturing one corner in particular)
sight entry (2) marker
front brake on
down shift
rear brake on
down shift
sight corner (3) marker
heavy front brake
shift weight
rear brake off
lean out
sight apex marker
dip bike
still riding front brake
power
leaning still and more so
power
release front brake
sight exit marker
power
leaning more
power-aaarrrgh