Finding an FZ6R

Enriqway

Hi forums!
I'll try to be short, I have a tendency to make TL;DR posts.

I'm trying to become a new rider, I'm a college student in NJ and I've been working 6-day/week shifts at a bakery this summer to make money for an FZ6R hahaha. Unfortunately, the deals around here aren't as promising as they were about a month ago. Most of the 09 FZ6R's on CL are generally around 5000$ and that's not within my budget, which includes gear and insurance.

I've already taken the MSF course, and done a bunch of research on beginner bikes, and actually initially planned on a ninja 250 until I realized that a lot of people outgrow bikes. After the MSF course, I've been pretty set on an FZ6R, but if I have to, will compromise with a ninja 650, assuming I can't get a deal.

But anyways, the Question for this Q&A is how to go about finding/buying a bike. I'm pretty new to everything, and I'm pretty young and naive to say the least. There's a deal for a blue FZ6R for 4100$ on craigslist, but it's apparently "scratched but not a big deal". I tried to call the guy today but he wouldn't pick up, but just wondering what you guys think about this, and any tips you guys can give me when I go out searching.

Based on the pictures, the scratches weren't visible at all, but it could be because of the quality.

Thanks for the time!

Fizzer6R

don't limit your search area, if you can find a deal 1-2 states away then the $ savings might be worth the drive. besides CL, check ebay and cycletrader. in your area I'd suggest upstate NY, come fall time bikes go for cheap up there. i'm from there, now down south and still get deals from that area

Scott_Thomas

Insert title Here
Elite Member

Enriqway